Best process for theme frontend development

Best process for theme frontend development

by Yann Soliveres -
Number of replies: 7

Hi there,

I'm new to developing Moodle Themes, I've been fullstack developer in PHP (wordpress) and JS (node).
I need some advice on how to work properly in respect of moodle dev process.

For a start I want to modify css in a child theme of Boost. I do manage to do it by activating Theme designer mode and changing scss in my child theme. But I have to hit reload every time to see the result, it's a painfully slow process..

I'm used to use gulp + browsersync to speed this process but I can't make it work here because of Moodle css processing.

Can you guys share your development process please ? 

Thanks a lot,

Yann

--------

MacOS

Moodle 3.8.1

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Yann Soliveres

Re: Best process for theme frontend development

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers
TDM off, change the CSS etc, Purge all caches -> Developer_tools#Purge_all_caches, test. There is also a cli version -> Administration_via_command_line#Purge_caches.
In reply to Gareth J Barnard

by Yann Soliveres -

Thanks Gareth,

I tried it, but with TDM I can't see my changes when editing either my theme SCSS or Boost's or even moodle.css. Any idea what I did wrong ?

Plus, purging caches takes a while, if I change two lines of CSS I'll still need to wait 20sec to see the result ? 

by Gareth J Barnard -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

With TDM off and after purging all caches (PAC) then you don't see the changes, then I don't know what you did wrong as not enough information to tell.