Link to course description page?

Link to course description page?

by Tina Smith -
Number of replies: 7

I've been digging around and researching this for days and I can't for the life of me find an answer to this...

What I want is to be able to have a stand-alone page for each course to describe the course in detail...images and such. So far all I'm seeing are very limited options, and nothing that is on a separate url that can be linked to that is available for viewing without creating an account and logging in.

I would like my course thumbnails to link to a detailed description page that people can read long before they ever sign up....but everything that I have is short and necessary to log in to see.

I even tried looking for an add-on to make this possible, but so far I'm not finding anything that works the way I want.

Is this something that is possible? 

I am no coder. So I need something already in existence or that is really easy to walk me through step-by-step how to do it if there is coding involved. 

Any help is appreciated! smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tina Smith

Re: Link to course description page?

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

You could create Page resources on the site 'front page' and then manually link to them from the course descriptions. It ain't pretty but it would do what you want. 

In reply to Howard Miller

by Tina Smith -

Thank you. I will look into this. So there is no other way?

In reply to Tina Smith

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

My approach is to keep my syllabi on my own web server.  I create these with Adobe Dreamweaver.  This, it is always simple for me to link to them from anywhere, such as MBA8150.  Yes, it is outside of Moodle.  Well, it works for me.

In reply to Rick Jerz

by Tina Smith -