Mod_Security with Moodle

Mod_Security with Moodle

by Zack Mack -
Number of replies: 9

Hi All,

I have been installing Moodle version 3.5 on my server but as i tries to install It's giving me error message as below :

Web server software (xxxxxxx WebPanel: Protected by Mod Security) is not supported, sorry.

I have checked  various resource in this forum and most of forums replies seems to provide opinion to disable mod_security Apache Module. But as i talked to my Hosting Company, they referred that removing/disabling Mod_Security Apache Module NOT recommended as it protects our server from various attacks.

I am not good at Server management so just want to confirm, If we disable Mod_Security Apache Module then running Moodle on unprotected Server would be fine OR is there any other alternative like making changes in Moodle configurations to run it with Mod_Security enabled. 

Please help and advice.

Thanks,

Zack

Attachment error.jpg
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Zack Mack

Re: Mod_Security with Moodle

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

It's not your problem - I suspect switching off mod security will make no difference.

This issue is because Moodle checks which web server you are running. It does this by checking the server variable... $_SERVER['SERVER_SOFTWARE'] and making sure that it is on the "approved" list. 

I suspect that your hosting company has compiled Apache in such a way that it returns a non-standard response. It should just say 'Apache' but instead is replying 'CentOS WebPanel: Protected by Mod Security'. This is all required because Moodle needs to do some 'fixing up' of data returned from the web server depending on what you are running. 

My inclination is to tell your company to sort this out - it's a weird thing to do. 

Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Howard Miller