Grading issues in Moodle 3.4

Grading issues in Moodle 3.4

by Jeff Mierzejewski -
Number of replies: 1

I recently upgraded our Moodle site from 3.0 to 3.4, and could use some help figuring out the assignment grading process. 

We have about fifteen eight-week courses, with 5-6 going on at any given time, and two teachers.  Each course has one weekly assignment (an audio recording) that must be human-graded, but there are no hard deadlines; and since students may re-do their recordings, we want to grade them within 24-48 hours so the student can improve their grade if they like,

In Moodle 3.0, as a teacher I would go to my dashboard, and I would see a summary of course needing attention; opening each one would like assignments that needed grading.,  I would select the assignment and step through the ungraded submissions.

In Moodle 3.4:

• there no longer seems to be a way to find ungraded work across assignments or courses.  I end up opening every assignment in every course (so, 40-50 assignments) daily to see if anything  needs to be graded.
  • once in an assignment, if I click on Grade, it seems to step me through every submission, graded or not, and I really don't want to send a notification to a student who hasn't even submitted yet.  So I chose show all submissions, filter to submitted but ungraded, and finally get to where I used to be in one click from the Dashboard.
  • finally, because the submission grading page is lacking the left hand navigation bar (default theme), I can't go directly to another assingment; I have to back out, find the next course and assignment to check for work to grade, and so on.
I can sort of rely on using email notification as a guide, but it seems like a lot of wasted motion. What am I missing?  Is there a better way?
In reply to Jeff Mierzejewski

Re: Grading issues in Moodle 3.4

by John Provasnik -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers