Messaging in Moodle 3.4

Messaging in Moodle 3.4

by Mary Beth McKee -
Number of replies: 6

We recently upgraded from Moodle 3.2 to Moodle 3.4.2 (Build: 20180319).

After the upgrade, our faculty starting getting an error message when trying to message students from the Participants page. See below.

I am an Admin for our Moodle instance, and when I updated the Teacher Role permissions for the setting 'Send messages to any user' from Not Set to Allow, it still did not resolve the issue.

Any suggestions for other permissions or settings to check? Thanks in advance for any leads.

Mary Beth 

error message

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mary Beth McKee

Re: Messaging in Moodle 3.4

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers

As I understand it, you now have to go into Site Admin > Advanced Features and make sure the "Enable Messaging System" is checked. It should  default to 'Yes', but sometimes... 

In reply to Colin Fraser

by Mary Beth McKee -

Hi Colin,

We did have the Messaging Enabled, and after more exploration, it appears to be an actual bug.  Here is a link to the issue in our Moodle Tracker.

Thanks,

Mary Beth

In reply to Mary Beth McKee

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Taking your bug report at face value, the issue is that to run that webservice the current user needs to have the capability 'moodle/site:sendmessage' defined in the site context. I don't suppose a teacher will have this. 

BUT... the docs for the capability provide a clue. "The default authenticated user role has this capability set to allow". Are you *sure* this hasn't been changed for your Authenticated User role?

In reply to Howard Miller

by Madhu Avasarala -

I am facing the same issue and I am using Moodle 3.5+