Where do you put the "textbook"?

Where do you put the "textbook"?

by James Noxon -
Number of replies: 16

Hi I am new to Moodle, however I used many other LMS.

In a course, there would ordinarily be a textbook. Now in Moodle, you can write your own textbook - like material. So I don't understand where you put that? You know, the "meat" of the course. Where does it go? I have written a Course Name, a Short Name, set the category, the visibility, the dates, the number, written the summary, set the format, so many things, but where does the "course" go? You know where the student reads some stuff and looks at diagrams and learns stuff, and then I wrote a quiz too. Since I didn't understand, I put the "course material" in the summary, so now I have one very long page. I am using MoodleCloud right now.

Help - PJ

Average of ratings: -
In reply to James Noxon

Re: Where do you put the "textbook"?

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hello again James. If you haven't already I advise you to join our Learn Moodle MOOC  - a free online course for complete beginners to Moodle - it starts on June 18 and is run by Moodle HQ

You seem to be working only in the course description, not in the actual course. Have a look at the videos below on creating and editing a course.

I am going to link to a playlist of videos (from our last Learn Moodle MOOC ) and I suggest you look through them to see which ones might give you some insight into using Moodle.   I think if you click the icon top left it shows the other videos.

In reply to Mary Cooch

by James Noxon -

Hmm, go and watch 32 videos was not the kind of answer I was hoping for...

I am wondering is it possible that the administrator can't enter the course "textbook" but that it will be necessary to change roles back and forth from admin to teacher to student?

still puzzled - PJ

In reply to James Noxon