Moodle site very slow from off premisis

Moodle site very slow from off premisis

by Jack B -
Number of replies: 13

I'll preface this with the fact that I have absolutely no idea how this system was setup.  I am a WAN engineer and had this dumped in my lap because the admin for our Moodle site is unable to troubleshoot this problem.  One of the sites in question, they all live on the same server is http://ecampus.gvboces.org.  On prem, it loads in no time, from off prem, you might as well do something else while you are waiting.  We have hundreds of other servers that have been NATd and have the same ports open to them (80, 443, we even tried opening this thing up to IP and no change) and those servers are totally fine.  Again I'm a network engineer so I've exhausted my troubleshooting trying to make this a WAN problem, it just doesn't seem to be the case.

The server specs(VM) are as follows:

4 sockets, 1 core per socket (2.4Ghz Xeon E5645)

4GB RAM

OS Drive 100GB (50% free)

Data Drive 100GB (56% free)

Windows server 2008R2, up-to-date as of today

Moodle 3.4.1

WAMP 3.1

Apache 2.4.27

mysql 5.7.19

php 7.1.9

that's about all I have.  I've disabled AV, there is no firewall in the way outside our WAN firewall, and this is a very robust network so I don't think this is a bandwidth problem.  

I know this is probably a multifaceted problem with a million variables but I really don't even know where to star.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

John

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jack B

Re: Moodle site very slow from off premisis

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Hi

The site you mentioned came up at no time. [BTW, it is better to protect the name of the site.]

So it is in a VPS? Is the parameter $CFG->wwwroot identical to the site URL you posted?
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

by Jack B -

we host the virtual environment ourselves onsite.  where do i find that parameter?