The Wiki module - stable and ready to use?

The Wiki module - stable and ready to use?

by Thor Hauknes -
Number of replies: 15
Hi.
I've started to use Moodle three months ago for an international project including schools from Wales, Denmark, Ireland and Norway (a Comenius project).
I have very little experience with wikis, but I think it would be a good tool to gather the information and knowledge we put together during our 3-year project. I have a few questions I hope someone can answer:
  • Is the wiki module stable and ready to use?
  • What is dfwiki? Is it standard with Moodle 1.5.2?
  • Would the wiki module be able to handle uploading of images, audio files and small videos?
Thanks,
Thor Hauknes, Norway
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Thor Hauknes

Re: The Wiki module - stable and ready to use?

by Alexandre Belousov -
as far as I know, the wiki module that comes with the standard moodle distribution hasn't been developped for a while, that's why we are looking forward to including the actively-developed dfwiki module into 1.6.
Concerning the stability issues:
Generally, I do not like the wiki module because it has some problems with non-cyrillic characters, and some code customizations are needed to fix that.
Imho, the dfwiki is now ready-to-use - it comes with a pretty-simple interface and a number of editors, including their own editor and std. html-editor of moodle.
I've set up several modules with dfwiki, they seem to work stable and are easy-to-update and change.

Concerning upload functions:
- upload of images is very easy , you may do that without any problem.
However, I failed to upload some pdfs (get the error "the document contains no data"), but it seems to be a general moodle problem that occurs not only in dfwiki. Also you are not able to upload files more that 2Mb in size. In both cases it's easier to put the file to the server and give the link into the dfwiki module.
- cannot say anything about videos, haven't used that yet.