Going 2.9.2 to 3.1... can I upgrade to a different folder?

Going 2.9.2 to 3.1... can I upgrade to a different folder?

by Fred Proctor -
Number of replies: 5

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Moodle so please bear with me. 

I am upgrading Moodle ver 2.9.2 to 3.1 hosted on a GoDaddy site that runs Linux. I've been reading over the 3.1 upgrade documentation. When I upgrade, I'm wanting to change the "moodle" folder from its current location since it is nested within the file structure of a different LMS software (done before I came onboard).  

In the midst of doing this upgrade, can I specify a new "moodle" folder location on the same server? Would this be a migration instead? I noticed that in the config.php, there is no mention to pathing of this folder. My "moodledata" folder will remain as is and so its corresponding pathing as specified in the config.php would remain unchanged. Is there anything else I need to edit/change for a smooth transition? Would the URL automatically find the folder in a new location on the same server?

Thanks,

Fred

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Fred Proctor

Re: Going 2.9.2 to 3.1... can I upgrade to a different folder?

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Yep - shouldn't be a problem. 

The only thing you'll need to worry about is changing whatever on GoDaddy points the URL (of your Moodle site) to it's location in the file system. That will need to reflect the new location. Not knowing anything about GoDaddy I can't help you there. 

However, you are quite correct, there's nothing in config.php that needs to know the install location and (with the above caveat) it should 'just work'.

In reply to Fred Proctor

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers