How long do you keep your courses open?

Re: How long do you keep your courses open?

by William Stewart -
Number of replies: 0

Chris,

I wanted to share two policies that I know of: a) where I work (an offshore university program), and b) my university department's policy (where I am a student). These are obviously not internal corporate related but in the 'spirit of sharing' as Ken says!

A) Work

I manage our Moodle installation and we run on an 8 week quarter system. The majority of students don't tend to enrol in sessions sequentially although this year has been different from the norm. I'd hazard a guess it has to do with poor market/labour conditions locally. Anyway, we simply reset courses every 8 weeks at the end of the session to clear data and make way for the new session. If students pass, they don't take the class again. If they fail, the may repeat it but this is a minority in practice. 

We export grade books and final grades into a separate repository for historical data and record keeping so it isn't necessary to retain this information in Moodle itself. Moodle also complements an on-site program so not all of student work is digital and stored in Moodle. We do sometimes have issues with students wanting to check their final grades after the system has been reset even though I typically do this on the first day of the new session. We simply redirect them to the admin staff that will pull it up from the other repository. We also encourage faculty to keep a record of the course grade book should a student inquire but it isn't mandatory since the admin staff can do this on behalf of the faculty/student. And yes, we are a very small department so there isn't much red tape or bureaucracy to go through.