Google keyword in Japanese characters for my moodle site

Google keyword in Japanese characters for my moodle site

by Milan Mihajlov -
Number of replies: 11

Hi All,

I'm new to administrating moodle and to this forum. 

I have a problem with my site when it's queried on google. If you search moodle.uist.edu.mk you will get the description below the title in Japanese characters (see photo). I received an email about this problem from some random guy (nkyushop@gmail.com). The site is working perfectly except the problem mentioned above. 

Any solutions to this problem? Or suggestions? 

Thanks in advance.

Best,

MilanScreenshot from the google search

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Milan Mihajlov

Re: Google keyword in Japanese characters for my moodle site

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

This is a Google issue...does the first link actually link to your site?  Do you have Japanese installed as language in Moodle?

In reply to Emma Richardson

by Milan Mihajlov -

Yes it links to the site. No, no other language installed except English.

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

If I do that google search for your site and then follow the Japanese link, a look at the source code shows a script at the top of the code which almost certainly should not be there

Japanese script

You probably need to investigate that script, what it does and/or how it got there (is it there deliberately/maliciously?). I believe that is what is turning your site link on Google Japanese.

Richard

In reply to Richard Oelmann

by Milan Mihajlov -

Thanks. I deleted the script and I will check on google later since it needs some time to apply the changes.

I will tell you the outcome.

In reply to Richard Oelmann

by Milan Mihajlov -

Almost 20h later no changes in the google search. Still showing in japanese

by Guillermo Madero -