Tried to send you an email but failed!' is most likely due to an incorrect SMTP server configuration.

Tried to send you an email but failed!' is most likely due to an incorrect SMTP server configuration.

by David Stepanczuk -
Number of replies: 10

Yeah, I have seen this topic in the forum, but I cannot make heads of tails out of the responses: I'm a teacher, not an IT guy. 

I've just set-up a number of courses using Moodle 3. My web host/server provides it. All courses are set up nicely. Now it's time to enroll some dummy students to see how easy.hard it is to self-enroll. The email client I used is Yahoo mail. After filling out the ID, password, etc for the dummy S I hit the button for sending confirmation email & got "Tried to send you an email but failed!' is most likely due to an incorrect SMTP server configuration." See what authentication I've set up so far. [attachment]

Kindly tell me what should I do step-by-step.

Thank you.

Attachment moodle extra domian.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Stepanczuk

Re: Tried to send you an email but failed!' is most likely due to an incorrect SMTP server configuration.

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Your attachment has nothing to do with Moodle authentication - it is just showing that your webserver set up your domain.

You need to tell Moodle what email account it is going to use to send messages.  You do this on the Admin Settings/Plugins/Message Outputs/Email.  If you have email through your webhost, they will be able to help you with the settings.  If you want to use your Yahoo account, then you need to find the yahoo settings. 

In reply to Emma Richardson

Re: Tried to send you an email but failed!' is most likely due to an incorrect SMTP server configuration.

by Omar Al Sayyed -

Hi emma

I have the same problem and will send attached file describe to settings