Additional security measures for Moodle

Additional security measures for Moodle

by John Rambo -
Number of replies: 8

Hi there

I am new to Moodle and have managed to set up a site that will be used for online courses, but beginning quite small. It is hosted on a shared server. For diverse reasons, VPS is not possible at this time.

I recently updated to the current newest version and all is up-to-date.

In the case of the Content Management Systems I am more conversant with like Drupal & Wordpress, especially if you have public registration, it is mostly important to add some modules in areas like security, like Captcha, firewalls, etc to help prevent spam registrations and posts and limit chances of code injection.

What additional measures to a basic Moodle installation do the experienced folks here recommend in this area?

Thank you in advance

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to John Rambo

Re: Additional security measures for Moodle

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hello. The documentation has some Security recommendations if that helps.
In reply to Mary Cooch

by John Rambo -

Hi there

Thank you for the very fast response smile

It will definitely help as a preliminary look at the recommendations shows.  We have most implemented, but we will do more.

A question, though specifically about plugins in particular is, are there any that can be recommended to improve security to a basic Moodle set-up, especially on a shared hosting or one does not need any?

Thank you & kind regards

In reply to Mary Cooch

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers