Missing text editor toolbar on MOODLE

Missing text editor toolbar on MOODLE

by Gorman Lee -
Number of replies: 10

I am a complete novice with MOODLE. All I know is that yesterday when entering content to a course I had the text editor toolbar; and today, there is no toolbar and content is now in plain text/HTML code. I have no idea what happened overnight or how to get back the text editor toolbar! Did I inadvertently do something? Is there a plugin bug (I haven't installed any plugins recently that would have caused the disappearance of the text editor toolbar)? I tried reading similar posts and responses and I am totally clueless on how to manage the administrative side of things. Is there anyone who can please explain to me or help troubleshoot in laymen terms?  

On a side note, I have access to a different MOODLE site (same version, 2.9) and there the toolbar exists when entering content. Where can I pinpoint the difference in settings between the two MOODLE sites where one has the text editor toolbar and the other does not?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Gorman Lee

Re: Missing text editor toolbar on MOODLE

by Mihai Bojonca -
Picture of Testers

Go to you profile preferences an make sure that in the Text Editor preferences you have selected Atto or TinyMce, or if for some reason you may have disabled it if you have access to admin settings go to you Plugins Tex Editor manage editor s and make sure it is enabled.

In reply to Mihai Bojonca

by Gorman Lee -

Thank you. Yes, both are enabled and Atto is selected as the default. I still am unable to see the text editing toolbar on any of the text fields. 

In reply to Gorman Lee

by Kim Salinas -
Picture of Testers

Hi Gorman, sometimes there is another option (pull down menu) directly below the text area on what kind of editor to use. Also try with a different browser like Chrome or Firefox. Check there, and let us know.

In reply to Kim Salinas

by Gorman Lee -

Hi Kim,