set number of points per quiz

set number of points per quiz

by Ellen B Cutler -
Number of replies: 7

Just discovered I am using Moodle 2.9. Also, as a technophobic newbie, I really appreciated suggestions written as simply and as jargon-free as possible. Thanks!

How do I set the number of points available on a quiz? I have set up some quizzes. Each has 4 multiple choice and 2 matching questions. I want everything to add up to 100 points. It seems like there should be a field for that but darned if I can find it.

Thanks for your help.  Ellen

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ellen B Cutler

Re: set number of points per quiz

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Ellen B Cutler -

OMG, Tim, I would NEVER have figured that out on my own. And it took me a while to figure out how to get to that particular view. It makes NO sense tome to go to "edit quiz" and then to go over to the administration area and hit "edit quiz" again.

Thanks for the help. As it turns out, if you hadn't sorted this out for me, my quizzes would have been a mess because the solution I thought was right was wrong.

I don't hate Moodle, I really don't, but it is just so unfriendly and NOT intuitive...

Much appreciation, Ellen

Average of ratings: Useful (2)

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

I guess the recently created issue MDL-51255 is about roughly the same thing. You need to know there are two things: the quiz settings, where you control various settings for the quiz like how many attempts are allowed, and then the Edit quiz page, where you build the quiz out of questions. Somehow, we need to make that obvious to new users. Suggestions welcome.