Moodle 2.8: New offline exam module

Moodle 2.8: New offline exam module

by Yunior Hernandez -
Number of replies: 2

Hi, I'm a PHP programmer and recently I've been asked to create a module for Moodle 2.8 that allows the creation of offline exam activities to a course. These exams are to be printed by teachers on certain dates and offline applied to students in the form of written exams that students must answer in pen-and-paper mode in a controlled area and time. Then teachers grade these written exams (also offline) and then they upload the results into moodle for each student graded. I've been reading about moodle and learned that there is a module that has similar funcionality, the Quiz module. So I'm not sure wich aproach to follow:

1. Create a new activity module and link it somehow to questions (that already exists) or...
  2. Modify the existing Quiz module to add functionality.
Can any of you point me to the best aproach?

Functionalities:

• Keep a question bank. (wich already exists)
  • Provide some objetives to each question and set a dificulty level for each objetive in each question.
  • Create offline exams in courses with: planned date, date range of allow printing, etc.
  • Add new questions to the exam or add a question from question bank. (already in quiz)
  • Autoadd a specified number of questions to the exam from the question bank given the desired objetives and dificulty level for each one.
  • Search if there is a similar exam (offline or online quiz) in the course or in the moodle site.
  • Print the exam for application.
  • Manually set true application date and grades for each student.
  • Allow an already applied exam to be redefined for the next application (different questions) without loosing the old exam definition and student grades.
  • Disallow an already applied exam to be reused (same questions) for its next application or for a given time.
  • Allow the review of each exam application by teachers.
Average of ratings: -