Uploading HotPot Mashed Quiz version 6 to Moodle

Uploading HotPot Mashed Quiz version 6 to Moodle

by Mark Callagher -
Number of replies: 3

Hullo,

I am new to this game and have been learning how to use both Moodle LMS and Hot Potatoes 6 (after much research it appears to me to be the best quiz option). I made various question types in HotPot and then Mashed them into one Quiz. I now have tried uploading the files. Questions I have:

1. Is it best to use masher before I upload the files or after
  2. It appears that I have to upload all files individually rather than as a complete folder of files - is this the only way.
  3. Do I have to upload all my pictures (included in Jmatch) separately? Is there no way that the Jmatch will see that it needs the pictures and upload them when I upload Jmatch.
  4. I have uploaded everything I can including my index page (made from Jmatch) but I am not able to get my quiz to work.

Please help - is there a tutorial for this somewhere?

Mark Callagher - new and keen

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mark Callagher

Re: Uploading HotPot Mashed Quiz version 6 to Moodle

by Glenys Hanson -
Hello Mark,

I'm new to Moodle, too, and can't answer all your questions but I can answer some.

I don't know about what happens to "mashed" quizzes.

I gather it's best to put all your files: the .jmt files, graphic files, sound files, etc. in one folder, zip it, upload the zipped folder to the files area of your course into a folder you've prepared there, unzip it, and then in your course use "Add an activity" - "Hot Potatoes Quiz" to add the .jmt file.
That's a bit succinct, but maybe it helps.

Gordon Bateson, the expert on Hot Potatoes in Moodle, is currently working on making it possible for "chains" of HP exercises to be added all in one go. If I've understood him rightly, it should be finished by the end of September.