langmenu not showing

langmenu not showing

by Emad Haddad -
Number of replies: 7

Hello everyone,

I am developing this website for a client of mine - it is my first time touching moodle and it has been a pain. 

I am using a theme called Portal which is beautiful but can't seem to get the language menu to show. I made sure that it is selected in the admin settings and added 'options' => array('langmenu'=>true), to the config settings. I see in the core css there is styling for the langmenu specifically but can't find it anywhere else in the code and it's not showing on the site. I've checked through the forum and mdl tracker before posting but can't seem to find a solution. 

Any thoughts?

Is there a code block I can insert in the header or general php that would force it to show?

(here is where the website is being hosted at the moment http://www.sgdesigns.us/

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all in advance. 

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Emad Haddad

Re: langmenu not showing

by Richard Oelmann -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

As Portal is a commercial, paid for, theme it is unlikely that anyone in the community has access to it.

In these circumstances the normal advice would be to consult the theme providers who you bought it from and who should be providing support as part of their service.

In most themes this language menu is now added as part of the custommenu. Take a look at the renderer in bootstrapbase if you want to do it yourself, but as I suggested, your first call should probably be the commercial theme author as the may have done things differently.

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Richard Oelmann

by Robert Brenstein -
Furthermore, you should not have to modify the config.php to activate the lang menu. It is normally activated in the site settings, including specification of languages to list. Of course, all extra language packs must be properly loaded.