Hidden categories clickable in essential breadcrumb

Hidden categories clickable in essential breadcrumb

by Peter Haasdijk -
Number of replies: 14

Hi,

Last weeks i spent a lot of time doing google searches about the breadcrumb trail in the essential theme.

Due to various reasons i have a number of courses that I make available through a hidden category. Now i don't want users to be able to click on a hidden category in the breadcrumb trail and see the other courses in that category.

When I login as an admin I can see these hidden categories being italic and light gray in the breadcrumb. Apparently the code recognizes these categories  as hidden. So i guess it should be possible to make these categories not clickable for users. However i can't find a solution for this and have no idea where to start myself.

Any ideas would be most welcome here.

Thanx,

Peter

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter Haasdijk

Re: Hidden categories clickable in essential breadcrumb

by Mary Evans -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

https://docs.moodle.org/24/en/Course_categories

Chapter 4 - https://docs.moodle.org/24/en/Course_categories#Hiding_categories

Explains it in detail.

To test use the Moodle Demo site, you will find  link to it at the top of the page. Login in as Admin, create a Category, hide it and then login as a Student and see if you can find it!

Hope this helps?

Mary

In reply to Mary Evans

by Peter Haasdijk -

Hi Mary,

Thanx.

This chapter doesn't say anything about the use of breadcrumbs. The problem is not if a student can or can't find a course. The problem is that the hidden category name is visible in the breadcrumb trail AND clickable is. Clicking on a hidden category results in an error (unknown category) and thats not nice.