General Help for Moodle Newbie

General Help for Moodle Newbie

by Lauren Ziegler -
Number of replies: 6

Hi Everyone, 

I'm interested in building a personal Moodle (2.7.1) for myself for testing purposes on a hosted server. My end goal is a production site is for to handle company training and be a reference and resource center for End Users and general product knowledge. Are there any other resources you guys can recommend out there or classes?

I'm thinking about taking either Remote-Learner or something from MoodleBites.  I've been reading the Moodle Documentation, messing around with Gnomio, and reading books like Alex Buchner's "Moodle 2 Administration" which have proved very helpful. I have no real background in LAMP, so some of the more technical elements are beyond my understanding and would appreciate any suggestions you may have. 

Also, are there any recommended web hosted servers for Moodle? Amazon maybe?

Thank you! 

Lauren

(Apologies if this isn't the right forum!)

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Lauren Ziegler

Re: General Help for Moodle Newbie

by Jhon Carlos -

Hi,

i'm also a newbie... do you know some free subdomain providers to host moodle ?

Thankz...

by Rick Jerz -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers

It would be helpful if you described your computer skills, and how much of the work you want to do yourself versus having somebody else do the administration.

In reply to Rick Jerz

by Lauren Ziegler -

Hi Rick, 

I'm not in the IT Department if that's what you're asking, but I do help customers with IT related tickets from time to time. I've done and still working on Code Academy, and can do updates to website HTML and CSS. Further, I have 2 people in my company who are dedicated SysAdmin, and a developer team that can help occasionally. I won't lie they are very busy as we are small company.