Anyone working on a DOMC question type "discrete option multiple choice"

Anyone working on a DOMC question type "discrete option multiple choice"

by Joseph Thibault -
Number of replies: 7
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Interesting new question type now available which might be valuable for Moodle: check out more info and a demo at http://trydomc.com/#/about

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Joseph Thibault

Re: Anyone working on a DOMC question type "discrete option multiple choice"

by Ewout ter Haar -

"Because the DOMC is a patented invention you need to complete a license agreement."

Just because of this someone should implement it in Moodle... I am not a lawyer, but to think this idea can be patented is pushing it. 

In reply to Ewout ter Haar

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Which moronic patent examiner let that one through? Hardly non-obvious. Just confirms my worst fears about patents. (I know what patents are supposed to do for society, but there is very little evidence that they actually work.)

Anyway, who cares. Minor tweak to multiple choice. CBM is a much more interesting idea if you ask me. Or, use a computer properly, and go for a constructed response question type.

In reply to Tim Hunt

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

I am not at all convinced of the claimed "superiority" of DOMC over a "normal", carefully constructed MCQ. And I agree with Tim that Moodle quiz's CBM feature is more interesting.