Moving Courses from 1.9.7 to 2.6

Moving Courses from 1.9.7 to 2.6

by Geoff Wildbur -
Number of replies: 5

First of all I am an absolute newbie to moodle. I have done some admin support and that is about all.
We currently have a moodle site running 1.9.7 and are wanting to create a Spanish version.
We have created a new site running 2.6 and I am now in the process of moving courses from the english site to the spanish site.

So after reading as much as I can I am currently trying to move over 1 course to see how this whole thing works. (now maybe I should just copy the whole site across and I am willing to do that also.)
I have backed up the course. Run it through conversionthingy2 and restored the course to the new spanish site. I have also moved over the pertinent moodledata directory.

So the issue is that some of the images are missing.  Now the mooodledata directory I moved over is moodledata/35 . That I can find. The issue is the image in /draftfile.php/5/user/draft/828297875/metaphysics_basics_x.jpg does not appear to show up and I have no idea where to look for that image on the server. In the 1.9.7 version of moodle everything seemed to be in the moodledata directory. I have no idea where this metaphysics_basics_x.jpg file is. Perhaps someone could point me to documentation that tells me more about the data directory hierarchy.

The other thing that occurs to me is that I am perhaps going about this in the wrong way and that I should create the new site in a different way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Geoff Wildbur

Re: Moving Courses from 1.9.7 to 2.6

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators