Install 2.5.5 on GoDaddy VPS

Install 2.5.5 on GoDaddy VPS

by Stefan McGarvey -
Number of replies: 15

Hello, I'm looking at installing Moodle 2.5.5 onto a new Virtual Private Server hosted by GoDaddy and wondering if anyone has done this before and had any advice for me. I currently have 1.9 and have decided instead of upgrading to 2.2 and then to 2.5.5 it would be easier to just start fresh and reinstall my courses later.

If I download the 2.5.5 package and put it up on the FTP site what do I do to launch this? or is it wiser for me to just do the multiply upgrades? I've got basic knowledge and skills.

Thank you, Stefan

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Stefan McGarvey

Re: Install 2.5.5 on GoDaddy VPS

by Yun Xu -

Hi Stefan,

For fresh installation:

1. Extract your Moodle package under your wwwroot directory

2. Setup a new database using phpmyadmin, don't forget to check the database hostname, database name and password;

3. enter "yours.domain/moodle/install.php" within a web browser

4. You should know the rest.

Hope it can remind you somthing you have installed Moodle 1.9 before.

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Your reason for going VPS is negated IF you continue to use the older (non-VPS) methods of installing/updating and upgrading Moodle.   Time for your 'basic knowledge' to up a rung!

First, hope you have an appropriate plan for the VPS:

GoDaddy VPS hosting Plans
Offers CentOS (6.4), Fedora (14), or Windows (2008)

"CentOS Version 6.4 is the operating system of choice for those looking for a highly stable version of Linux that offers enterprise-level reliability."

http://www.godaddy.com/hosting/vps-hosting.aspx

It's LTS (long term support which means
CentOS-6 updates until November 30, 2020
http://wiki.centos.org/FAQ/General#head-fe8a0be91ee3e7dea812e8694491e1dde5b75e6d

Not true of Feodra and certainly NOT Windows