I Have Badge Confusion. Please help

I Have Badge Confusion. Please help

by Doug Moody -
Number of replies: 8

Moodle 2.5.1

I am confused. I am an admin of my site, and put myself in as a teacher in a course.

I created an image at 90 x 90 and then created it as a badge. It shows up fine.

However, when I try to award this badge to some fictitious students in my test course, I cannot see any students at all in the recipients list. What is stopping me from seeing students so I can award them badges? I am missing something fundamental, I am sure. But what is it? Please tell me what menus to access to enable this service properly. I looked in the Docs, but obviously overlooked a step.

Thank you.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Doug Moody

Re: I Have Badge Confusion. Please help

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Ok -have you clicked to enable access? Are you awarding this badge manually with the teacher role? When you have clicked to enable access- then when you click to award the badge either by clicking the award badge button at the bottom of the overview or from the Recipients page, are you saying that you do not see any students in the"Potential badge recipients" list?

In reply to Mary Cooch

by Doug Moody -

Thank  you ladies. I solved the problem (sort of)

It had to do with the authenticated user and student roles. They were not set to allow for those roles that had to do with moodle/badges.

But now I have two new questions...

First, when a user clicks on the badge or is awarded a new badge, there is a "Download" button. What's the purpose of this? How is it to be used?