Capital vs lower case letters with units

Capital vs lower case letters with units

by Nikae Perkinson -
Number of replies: 8

Moodle 2.3

I teach an introductory chemistry course.  In the calculated question I have always had problems with units.

For example, Calories is a different unit than calories.  Likewise, mg is a different unit than Mg.

Moodle 2.3 does not allow me to differentiate between capital and lower case letters.  This is a problem.

Is there anyway I can address this?

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nikae Perkinson

Re: Capital vs lower case letters with units

by Joshua Bragg -

I'm a chemistry teacher too and ran into the same issues.  Its actually better than you think.  

Its case sensitive from the student perspective but case-insensitive from the teacher perspective.

For example if you create a question with mL as the correct unit, Moodle will not allow you to add ml, ML, or Ml as additional units.  I just tried it on my 2.4 installation and it put in a general debug message.  I seem to remember that it used to do a "This is a duplicate" message in the editing form.

(@Tim Hunt: Is this a bug or by design?  It also made two incomplete questions in my question bank when I just retried this... When did this change?)

However, if you put in the unit as mL and a student types in the unit as ml, then they will receive a message that the unit is entered incorrectly.