Enrolling users in cohorts into groups

Enrolling users in cohorts into groups

by Simon M. -
Number of replies: 3

Hello,

I'm new to Moodle so this might seem like a simple question but I can't find the answer.  Moodle seems to work 'upside-down' compared to what I need.

I want a system set up whereby a user is enrolled (can't be self-enrolled) into a cohort and they are automatically enrolled into x number of core courses in Moodle.  From there, they are divided into groups depending on their location (so the teacher in Cardiff can contact just the Cardiff students etc.).  I've attached a diagram if that helps.

The problem I'm coming up against is that it seems this all has to be done manually.  Courses nees to be manually linked to a cohort and groups need to be manually added to a course if you want location-control.

Is there any batch function available so that by uploading a single CSV file, Moodle knows that Cohort X is linked to courses A, B and C and that each course contains Group Alpha and Group Beta?

The pyramid diagram might be slightly misleading as the core subjects might be shared with another cohorts so they aren't exclusively for use by that cohort.

There is the potential to require 100s of courses which is why I'm hoping to avoid the manual linking!  Any ideas or help would be appreciated.  My brain is starting to hurt now.

Attachment Moodle Flow.jpg
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Simon M.

Re: Enrolling users in cohorts into groups

by Derek Lawrie -

I'd be very interested in this if you could get it working, unfortunately it's beyond me,  but it would be very useful as we manually split the students into groups once they are enrolled through a combination of cohorts and database enrolment.

In reply to Derek Lawrie

by Cam Kinoshita -

Did you ever figure out a system for this to work?

In reply to Simon M.

by Emma Richardson -