From 1.9.9 to 2.2 on my own

From 1.9.9 to 2.2 on my own

by Ulrike Albers -
Number of replies: 13

Hallo,

I will have to do the upgrade on my own because tomorrow my site is not going to work any more (my server disables php 5.2). I'm really afraid because I'm not a computer scientist, and because I have some problems to understand the documentation and different explanations.

I would be really grateful if anybody could help me with one of my questions:

1. When do I to switch to php 5.3: before or after upgrade (2.2 does not work with 5.2, 1.9.9 does not work with 5.3) ?

2. I was told that upgrade = new installation, but in the moodle documentation (http://docs.moodle.org/20/en/Upgrading_to_Moodle_2.0) it says "Lastly, consider not upgrading at all. It might be a good time to start with a completely fresh install of Moodle 2.0...." so this would mean it's too different things

>> if it's NOT the same, where on moodle.org can I find the "upgrade files" ?

>>> if it IS the same, what happens to all my configurations ? to the design ? - can I use the tool on my server which installs moodle (I just have to click) ?

3. I read I have to purge php cache: what is it, where can I find it (on the server ? on my moodle installation ? elsewhere ?) ?

4. I read I have to transfer any password salt values in my old config.php: what does that mean ?

5. I read I have to verify database schema before upgrading, but when I go to that link, it says: Upgrade, then to x, then Y...(upgrade first) -how to understand this ?

I have made all the backups, and I have made a copy of my moodle site; I uninstalled Nanogong plugin, and all server requirements shoul be ok.

Can you help me ?

Thank you very much...!

Ulrike

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Ulrike Albers

Re: From 1.9.9 to 2.2 on my own

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
Hi Ulrike

You have received a heap of misinformation!