Interactive with Multiple Tries Problem

Interactive with Multiple Tries Problem

by Mark Meredith -
Number of replies: 16

I'm new to much of this, so please excuse me if I'm oblivious to a simple solution to this.  I've built a quiz from a question bank imported from Examview.  In fact, I first had to convert it to Moodle XML before importing it, because I could never get the Examview exported file to import to Moodle. 

Now that the quiz is setup, I can't seem to get the 'Interactive with Multiple Tries' setting to work.  The only setting that seems to work is the traditional one attempt per question quiz.  You never see the 'try again' option regardless of the quizzes setting.  Does anyone have an idea as to why this is happening?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mark Meredith

Re: Interactive with Multiple Tries Problem

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

This is confusing. To use multiple tries, you need to add some Hints to the question, which you can do by editing them. The number of tries is the number of hints, plus one.

Average of ratings: Useful (3)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Mark Meredith -

Thank you!  That's the issue.

Do you know what I could be doing wrong when I'm attempting to import a file made in Examview?

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

There is an issue. Other systems don't have the concept of Hints, at least not in this sense.

Having to edit each question individually in Moodle to add hints is a total pain.

Probably, what we need is a bulk add/edit hints tool - although really it is better if the hints are specific to the quetsion, and help the student know what to do if they got it wrong first time.

In reply to Tim Hunt

by Emma Richardson -