Upgrading from 1.9 to 2 - Unable to loggin to Moodle

Upgrading from 1.9 to 2 - Unable to loggin to Moodle

by Michelle Liesker -
Number of replies: 5

Hi, I am very new to moodle. We have been using Moodle 1.9 with only 1 course created (I am happy to start over). Our business analyst set up Moodle on our server (Internal - server 2008 Microsoft) but has since left and i am not sure of what he did to put it on our intranet. It is not available on the internet.

I attempted an upgrade to V2 and everything looked great. now I am stuck in a loop and cannot login to Moodle at all.

I would appreciate any help at all but please understand i am not a computer genius blush I am not all that familiar with PHP and computer gobbeldegook.... (although trying to learn).

what I can tell you is...I backed up the data, put moodle in maintenance mode, checked sever/environment to make sure the status checks were ok, moved the config.php file out of moodle files, downloaded version 2.0, unzipped and overwrited the moodle folder, moved the config file back to moodle folder and then tried to access Moodle.

I have now a number of messages, one of which i have attached. I am now stuck in the loop....please help me.

Cheers Michelle

Attachment Upgade to new version.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michelle Liesker

Re: Upgrading from 1.9 to 2 - Unable to loggin to Moodle

by Guillermo Madero -

Hi Michelle,

Did you, by any chance, make a backup of your moodledata folder and of your moodle folder (or have the original package)? If so, then rename your moodle folder (e.g. to moodle_bad), restore your moodle folder backup (or unpack your moodle package), copy the config.php file from "moode_bad" into your new moodle folder, restore your moodledata folder and your database. Hopefully everything will work fine.

Before attempting an upgrade, please read:

http://docs.moodle.org/22/en/Upgrading