Students can't reply to forum - Help!

Students can't reply to forum - Help!

by Tom Walsh -
Number of replies: 10

Hi-

I've posted a forum question on my class page, but the students can't reply to it. They can only see it.  I've tried playing with permissions, the type of forum, etc., but I can't figure it out.  The students are enrolled in the course.  When I check the permissions students are listed as being able to reply to posts.  

This is my first year using Moodle.  Thanks for any help.

Tom

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tom Walsh

Re: Students can't reply to forum - Help!

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi Tom. What kind of forum is it? If it is the default news forum then they can't reply because only teachers can post to it - if it is another type of forum then have you got your course and students set to separate groups? If so then that might be a reason why they can't reply either - let us know so we can advise more.

In reply to Mary Cooch

by Tom Walsh -

Mary-

I think I've got it fixed!  I tried playing around with the group settings after reading your post.

Thanks

Tom

In reply to Tom Walsh

by Paul Gillary -

Hi Tom,

Could you tell me what you did to resolve this issue. I am having the same problem in Moodle 2.0.

Regards

Paul

In reply to Paul Gillary

by apex lee -

hmmmm... spent hours to get the issue solved... for the sake of the childrens aka students ^_^

well, hope we are facing same problem...

first, you must make sure the students have permission to do the action eg. reply  post/news

second

if you have set the course setting for

group mode = Separate groups

then

in the course you MUST create a group and assign the students into that group, so that the students can reply or post(depends on the permission setting)

to create a group: