New user in Taiwan

New user in Taiwan

by Tim Nall -
Number of replies: 6

Hello,

I'm an English teacher in a small university in Taiwan. Formerly a computer programmer, still a geek. Looking forward to all that's ahead.

TMN

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tim Nall

Re: New user in Taiwan

by Don Hinkelman -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Tim,

Nice to hear from you. I am an English teacher, too, up in Sapporo, Japan. I work here with Glenys and others on the Moodle for Language Teaching community, which you might check out. A good place to post questions about teaching foreign languages is here.

I am sure there are user groups in Taiwan but if you want to come up to Japan, there are a number of face-to-face conferences on Moodle:

If you still want to keep up with programming, there are number of projects that my colleagues and I are working on. Two guys in Nagasaki have just put together a video recording/CALL lab module in Moodle 2.1 and we are looking to test it and refine the interfaces and add activities. I am working on a course-sharing repository and building a rubric design tool for EFL speech making and composition writing--and need some help there. My PHP skills are next to nothing but I love designing modules--Moodle makes it easy for us teachers to customize.

Keep in touch!   Don smile

In reply to Don Hinkelman

by Tim Nall -

Hi Don,

Thanks for the reply. I'm very, very interested in wiping the dust off my programming skills. I worked a little with C and C++ (and a lot more with  a couple other languages, one of which is obscure) in a previous life, and work with Python still today to do my daily chores. I am now lookng at PHP, and... well, it doesn't look too challenging at all, but I'm not far into it yet.