Performance testing for framework cost only

Performance testing for framework cost only

by David Ackerman -
Number of replies: 3

I'm very new to Moodle and trying to get some good performance metrics on a Moodle installation. Ideally, I'd like to run some of those performance tests on a page that has little to no database querying going on so I can get an idea of how much the database is adding to any bottlenecks at various concurrencies.

Normally, I'd assume that the login page would be a good candidate, but there seemed to actually be quite a few (20-30 if memory serves me) queries running on just that.

A drastic measure would be to implement a dummy DB service that fakes the connection and returns results instantly for the purposes of the test, but if there are simpler options (like just finding a page with very few queries), I'd like to try those first.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Ackerman

Re: Performance testing for framework cost only

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Such a thing does not exist.

For example, a hello-world type Moodle (2.1) script (http://example.com/moodle/hello.php) looks like

require_once('config.php');
$PAGE->set_url(new moodle_url('/hello.php'));
require_login();
$PAGE->set_context(get_context_instance(CONTEXT_SYSTEM));
echo $OUTPUT->header();
echo $OUTPUT->box('Hello moodler!');
echo $OUTPUT->footer();

Ouch! that seems to be 42 DB queries. We really need to do something about that.

If you have not already found them, there are options on admin -> development -> debugging to display performance info in the footer of every page.

In reply to Tim Hunt

Re: Performance testing for framework cost only

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers