Moodle installer Hangs

Moodle installer Hangs

by Paul Swainson -
Number of replies: 3

Hi to all forum members!

This is my first time here and I have setup moodle a few times, fantastic it is too. I have a small setup which I will go over before explaining my problem in full (I find it best when asking for help to explain what I have done) .

I have a firewall/router called IPCOP, I have a internal green zone safe from bad packets and with this I have a DMZ zone with qmail, apache on fedora core 1 with around 15 domains hosting over a standard ADSL line.

I have setup moodle on my internal green network with a test dns & web server and it works like a dream (same as my DMZ server). A local school wants to play with moodle so I decided to use a spare domain name, setup a virtual host and begun the install from the DMZ server.

Now, operating from my internal network and from a remote proxy on the net produced the same problem. The first page appears fine so I click next, then I get a pass on all tests, click next and I get the screen from the 1st settings, It retreves the domain name, web dir etc but when I click next the thing freezes, eventualy it returns the error moodle could not be found on that domain name.

If I attempt to do anything without closing the browser it simply will not comminicate. I thought it might be the IPCOP deny a PHP request and baning me, but it is not.

To determin if it was a miss configured server I ran the install on the web server as localhost, the setup completed so it is to do with IPCOP. After I simply went into the config.php and changed the url to the domain name!

Great, it works instide and out, so what was the installer doing that IPCOP does not like. I have been to varoius forums for IPCOP but they think its related to moodle (not that old chestnut again)?