Installing Moodle & PHP on Windows Server 2008R2

Installing Moodle & PHP on Windows Server 2008R2

by Johnny Bee -
Number of replies: 22

Hey all, 

First, pls fogive my noobishness, this is my first attempt of installing moodle.

I have scoured the docs and forum but it's making my head hurt and I can't find the help I need.

I'm having a lil' trouble installing moodle & PHP on Windows Server 2008R2 (x64)... I /may/ have got past the PHP stage but want to double check if I've done things right...

So I followed the link to the instructions "Installing Moodle on Windows Server 2008 R2" - however they seem out of date for the PHP side.

So /please/ tell me if I have done this correct or wrong...

Page 6.1 The PHP download does not exist.  I downloaded the 5.3.5 x64 PHP zip elsewhere... BUT then...

Page 6.2 php.ini-recommended does not exist.  So I used php.ini-production instead.  BUT then...

Page 7.8 c:\php\php5isapi.dll does not exist! ... after a lil' googling I found that it is no longer used...

Sooooo.... I intsalled CGI component of IIS7 and then made both the FastCGI Module Map AND Script Map point to c:\php\php-cgi.exe and my <?php phpinfo();?> appears to be working... But I have no idea if this is acutally right or if it's just going to byte me in the butt later on.

AND I have no idea what to set the value of open_basedir to in the php.ini file.

Can anyone please offer me some advice or at least link me to a current php + moodle installation guide for Windows Server 2008 R2.

Much appreciated.

Johnny

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Johnny Bee

Re: Installing Moodle & PHP on Windows Server 2008R2

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers