Using Moodle in Software Training...HELP!!!

Using Moodle in Software Training...HELP!!!

by Douglas Constant -
Number of replies: 6

Hi...I am new to Moodle and trying to find my way around....HELP!  ;-(

We are a software company and have a few modules created in Moodle. Basically we made videos of the instructor using our software and showing students where to point and click. We also have voice in the videos. The videos are sent to Moodle and accessed by students.

I was wondering how we can make the training more interactive. Most software training is like a tutorial of all SHOW and no PRACTICE. I would like to use the above video to SHOW students how to navagate our software and then allow the student actually PRACTICE the same task shown while still in Moodle. What do I need to do to get students to actually use the software inside of Moodle module?

Is this possible? I have seen modules like this but do not know how they were created. Does anyone know where I can view a video or a Moodle example of something like this?

Thanks...Doug

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Douglas Constant

Re: Using Moodle in Software Training...HELP!!!

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers

The kind of interactivity you are asking for here is not Moodle, it is the software used to create the video. I have done this using a freeware program called Wink. It is a simple program, easy to learn and allows a great deal of flexibility. One video I did ran to a point, stopped, I inserted a page with two instructions on it, then when they finished, they carried on to the next point, working their way through the video. You can do this same thing with recorded instructions. I have tried Camstudio and could not get a sufficient quaulity video, not that the Wink is all that brilliant. I understand Camtasia is regarded as the leading product, but I have never used it, and it is not freeware.

by Gareth J Barnard -