DIfference of cohorts and groups/grouping

DIfference of cohorts and groups/grouping

by JM Ferring -
Number of replies: 12

Dear all,

I'm confused as I do not get the difference between cohorts and groups/grouping in moodle 2.0.

Am I right to understand that cohorts are nothing else than site-wide groups?

Thank you or your help.

Jean-Marc

Average of ratings: -
In reply to JM Ferring

Re: DIfference of cohorts and groups/grouping

by Kymm Nelsen -

JM, I found a great article on Groups vs. Groupings. http://docs.moodle.org/en/What_is_the_difference_between_groups_and_groupings%3F 

I would appreciate something similar for using a Cohort vs Group? Anyone have some tips or insights?

Kymm

In reply to Kymm Nelsen

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

My understanding - and I am still learning - is this;

Cohorts are groups of users made by site admin that can be enrolled in courses "en masse" . So you could have a cohort called, for example, January Intake.

You can go to your January Maths course and (if you have the permissions) enrol the whole January Intake cohort at the click of a button.

However...

the cohort is enrolled as separate users in your course. So if you are used to having your users split up into groups, then you would still need to create groups. You could make an empty group and then move all the users from the cohort into that group - for example.

So cohorts are sitewide groups you can bring into your course. But they are not "groups" as we know them in an individual Moodle course. Indeed - you could enrol a cohort and then split them into several different groups if you so wished inside your course.

(Groupings are different from groups and they are the same in Moodle 2.0 as they are in 1.9)

Average of ratings: Useful (4)
In reply to Mary Cooch

by Kymm Nelsen -