conducting some research about Moodle

conducting some research about Moodle

by nicola franklin -
Number of replies: 9

hello everyone and thank you in advance for any responses you may have to the following ...

i am a teacher conducting some research for a post-grad paper i am writing about VLEs. i am using my college as a case study for how Moodle is being implemented but would like to hear from other teachers about how students want to use the platform.

i was wondering if anyone would have any thoughts about increasing student autonomy and personalisation in Moodle?

the philosophy of the Moodle platform is very obviously one of equality and of sharing (social constructivism etc). however, this currently appears to be more about the teachers/coders sharing tactics rather than providing the learners with a space to contribute their own ideas about how they would like to learn or how the platform could be adapted to meet their individual learning needs.

having conducted interviews with my students about how they would like to use Moodle, they have come up with lots of ideas but i am not sure if Moodle has the capabilities to give them what they want.

i would love to know if anyone else has conducted any similar research asking the students how they want to learn and how Moodle can be used to facilitate this

i would also love to know what you think the future of Moodle is.

thanks smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to nicola franklin

Re: conducting some research about Moodle

by A. T. Wyatt -
Greetings, Nicola!

It would be nice to get a synopsis of what your students said they would like to see! That would provide some context for the discussion.

I have heard about individual and group student forums, wikis, and glossaries. There is blogging. There are people who use Moodle along with Mahara and Google apps.