What's the best software to use with Wacom tablet pen ?

What's the best software to use with Wacom tablet pen ?

by Andrew Hamel -
Number of replies: 8

Hi, I would like to know what the best software to write mathematical formulas using a wacom tablet and pen ? Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Andrew Hamel

Re: What's the best software to use with Wacom tablet pen ?

by Livia Spini -
Hi, Andrew!
I'm a math teacher and I've a wacom tablet too!
I'm trying to make (very little) math lessons with my wacom tablet. I'm using inkscape (a vector Graphic editor) as a whiteboard, I record what I write and what I simultaneously explain in flv file and I public it on my moodle site.
The lesson isn't really interactive, my students can only watch it at home.
If you know tools to make lessons more interactive, I'm very interested.
In reply to Livia Spini

by Andrew Hamel -

Thank you very much Livia for your information. I will look for inkscape but if you have a link to it that would be great. What recording software do you use? camtasia or something ? I'm still looking for an interactive whiteboard that can be used with a pen. Thanks

In reply to Andrew Hamel

by Livia Spini -
Hi, Andrew!
You can found inkscape here. It's a graphic (vector) multiplatform editor; it isn't specifically designed to work as whiteboard, but I use it because I seem me to write better with it then with other similar software.
I work on Linux and I record with recordmydesktop. On Windows I know CamStudio; it's open source software.
When you found interactive whiteboard, tell me!
Have you tried DimDim?

In reply to Livia Spini

by Andrew Hamel -

Hi Livia,

Thanks for the links. I haven't tried DimDim yet but I have tried gotomeeting and I found it average. If there is enough interest in an online whiteboard to integrate with moodle I might program it. Thanks

In reply to Andrew Hamel

by Cristina Berisso -

Hello Andrew and Livia,