Confused_Wamp & Xamp Moodle

Confused_Wamp & Xamp Moodle

by Nicki Nicki_Ch -
Number of replies: 25
Hi there,

I'm just starting to learn PHP and Moodle. I'm confused with Wamp & Xamp (Moodle Package).

First, I installed the Wamp, got it configured, since I'm following a PHP training video.

Then I installed Moodle Package with Xamp according to another Moodle training program.

My question is:

how can I just install Moodle into the Wamp folder?

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Nicki Nicki_Ch

Re: Confused_Wamp & Xamp Moodle

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers
Funny you should raise this question right now.... OK, it is actually simple but sometimes we get a little careless and forget that people who are unfamiliar with the ..ahem.. vocabulary .. of Moodle do not pick up on the subtleties employed quickly enough.

1. The WAMP is an Apache, MySQL and PHP creating a shell that Moodle and other PHP apps, mediaWiki, Mahara etc, can slide into. This can be automatically started by Windows at start up. You can download and install a Standard Moodle package into the htdocs folder and it will run.

2. Xampp is a third party installer that automatically creates a similar install, but it executes the Apache startup through its own start exe. XAMPP can be downloaded from Apache Friends as a single installer - and is easy to set up. You can then download a Standard Moodle installation install it to the Server Root, and it will run.

3. Xampp-lite/Moodle package is a near complete installation of Xampp, Apache, MySQL, PHP and Moodle that you can download and install and get a quick, clean Moodle install in one hit.