making sense of all that Moodle offers- can someone point out the benefits?

making sense of all that Moodle offers- can someone point out the benefits?

by Tim Chambers -
Number of replies: 14
I'm an artist (www.timothychambers.com), and a picture is worth a thousand words. Forgive me for saying so, but Moodle seems so blah in its appearance, yet I read one comment or article after another raving about it! So, I obviously don't understand its benefits or capabilities yet. I'd love to find an article that just walked me through why it's so cool and beneficial to so many. Any suggestions?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tim Chambers

Re: making sense of all that Moodle offers- can someone point out the benefits?

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
It's not just about style but content smile Many others like you have commented on Moodle's appearance - in fact, there are lots of themes that make it look much less "blah" and with the new Moodle coming out in summer it will look even better. However, to me, that's not what counts. You need to look beyond the front page and inside it to its interactivity, 24 accessibliity, independent study capabilities, collaborative learning features oh and much more. If you are interested in teaching with Moodle there is a whole course Teaching and Learning with Moodle that gives a good intro with some videos etc on why Moodle is -er - Good smile
Average of ratings: Useful (2)
In reply to Mary Cooch

by Tim Chambers -
That's what I need to see- the benefits on why Moodle works so well. I guess this is a great case of not judging a book by its cover! I searched for the course- I think it's here: http://moodle.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=146283- and I'll dive into it, ready to learn.