grading multiple choice questions with multiple answers

grading multiple choice questions with multiple answers

by Diana Maynard -
Number of replies: 22
As a moodle newbie, I'm struggling to find an effective solution to the following problem.

I have a question which has multiple choice answers, and has more than 1 correct answer. I can't find a way to grade it so that a user gets 1 point for a correct answer, but gets penalised for additional wrong answers. Otherwise the canny user could select all possible answers, and get full marks.

Assume the correct answers are A and B out of a choice of A, B, C and D.
I would like to set it up the following way:
- If the user selects A and B, he gets 2 points.
- If the user selects A, he gets 1 point.
- If the user selects A, B and C, he gets only 1 point (2 points for the correct answer, but -1 for the wrong answer).

All these I can manage by setting A and B to 50% each, and C and D to -50% each.
But if the user selects A and C, he should get 1 point, because he got A right, whereas he'll get 0 points (+50% for A and -50% for C). That doesn't seem right. He should only get penalised if he gets ADDITIONAL wrong answers in addition to the correct ones.

It seems a fairly obvious way to score things, but there doesn't seem an obvious solution. Does anyone have any workarounds? So far we've done it by using the Matching type of question and setting each possible answer to True or False, but it's not quite the same and is very clunky.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Diana Maynard

Re: grading multiple choice questions with multiple answers

by Joseph Rézeau -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi Diana,