MS AD - LDAP

MS AD - LDAP

by Paul Meulman -
Number of replies: 8

Hello,

I want to enable the login for all the users in our Active Directory. Users are split up in different OU's and are some levels deep.

I can log in as a administrator if I add the context CN=Users,DC=domain,DC=local.  I enabled search subcontext. I am new with the ldap context. Is there a simple method so Moodle can find from the top all the users?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Paul Meulman

Re: MS AD - LDAP

by Colin Fraser -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Testers
<rant class="social_impact">
I am sorry if my comments offend anyone here, but why assume that it is Moodle that will, or even should, be able to solve all such issues? There isn't a network admin that does not get serious issues with getting Moodle to work with LDAP. If Microsoft designed AD properly, and/or were a lot clearer about how it works, then the majority of issues could be resolved easily, or at least considerably more easily than they are now.

Microsoft's inherent arrogance in their assertions they know best and we should not worry about it manifests itself in this kind of nonsense. My recommendation to anyone is to drop Microsoft and use Open Source - even if my own workplace is just as stuck on such issues. I understand the old saying that I should not wish too hard, but reality is that we, as a society, can no longer afford the Western Price model, nor proprietal interests like we have always done. This sort of nonsense is the end result, integration, although never easy, becomes almost impossible without huge, expensive and extremely complex support systems.
</rant>

Sorry.. away for a bit, back again..