RAM and RAID and concurrent users

RAM and RAID and concurrent users

by J Fernandes -
Number of replies: 3
Hello everyone,
We've a linux moodle server set up by a colleague who has now left, and I'm still learning the system. One issue we have is we sometimes get a 'too many connections' or similiar message when over 30 users try to use moodle.

According to this site, it says 50 users per 1GB of RAM. Our server has 1GB installed with 512MB free.

So if I were to stick in 2 or 4GB RAM in total, would the server just boot up, see and utilise the extra RAM? Would I need to change any settings/config files?

Also, how would I check if the server has RAID configured? DF -H shows 'hda1'.

I also tried to check max connections inside phpmyadmin, but the main page of phpmyadmin is just blank, nothing comes up, not even under 'view source' of the web page.

Please can you help, I appreciate your help.

Thanks for your time,
Jon
Average of ratings: -
In reply to J Fernandes

Re: RAM and RAID and concurrent users

by Visvanath Ratnaweera -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Translators
> we sometimes get a 'too many connections' or similiar message when over 30 users try to use moodle.

What do they do? Just "browsing" or taking an exam using the Quiz module, all at the same time?

> According to this site, it says 50 users per 1GB of RAM.

Depends on the Moodle version, what is yours? Versions of Apache, PHP and MySQL are usefull to know.

> Our server has 1GB installed with 512MB free.

How do you measure?

> So if I were to stick in 2 or 4GB RAM in total, would the server just boot up, see and utilise the extra RAM? Would I need to change any settings/config files?

Upto 4 GB on a 32 bit machine is never a problem. What is your architecture i386? AMD64?

Did you go through the docs? http://docs.moodle.org/en/Performance http://docs.moodle.org/en/Performance_FAQ
In reply to Visvanath Ratnaweera

by J Fernandes -
Thanks for your help.