Moodle adoption strategies?

Moodle adoption strategies?

by Steven Walsh -
Number of replies: 5

Hello,

Does anyone has any advice or know where I could find information pertaining to best practices for adopting Moodle as a learning management system?

I work for a government learning and training centre.  We are developing our own e-learning courses in-house.

I'm new to this so any help or advice or even clarification on what I should be looking for would be much appreciated smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Steven Walsh

Re: Moodle adoption strategies?

by Colin Matheson -
Often the first question is how to host it: on site or purchase a hosting plan. If you host it on site you will need IT staff to support the server. If you purchase hosting you can buy cheap hosting from many sources that offer fantastico instant installation of Moodle. However, you won't get any Moodle support. If you want someone to call/email with support or upgrade questions, then you should look into an official Moodle Partner to host.

I recommend your start with a cheap pilot program in which you manually create users with a file upload (or even have them create their own accounts). Have them try out a simple class with a few resources and activities. That will give you a better understanding of what Moodle can do when you design and monitor your full fledged courses.
In reply to Colin Matheson

by Steven Walsh -

Hi Colin,

We are hosting it on site, we do have IT staff to help us support it. I'll take your advice and look into a pilot program, thanks and much appreciated!

In reply to Steven Walsh

by Ryan Chadwick -
Hi Steven,

I would suggest you start by having a play with all the activities and resources. Create a testbed course and experiment with them all.

Then maybe have a look at the 3rd party addon's you can aquire on the moodle site.