Master Course vs. Child Courses

Master Course vs. Child Courses

by David Mark Weiss -
Number of replies: 5
I am still very new to Moodle. But loving it so far. I have a course, that I want to teach in 10 sections. Meaning, I want to have 10 different groups all taking the same course.

If I could have all my wishes come true. I would like to have a master course, and then have 10 child courses, that were the same as the master course. If I change something in the master course, the child courses change automatically, But if someone wants to augment their child course for their students, they can, but it doesn't affect the master course.

Does this make sense to any one but me? And if so, is this somehow available in moodle and I haven't read it yet?

Thanks

Mark Weiss
Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Mark Weiss

Re: Master Course vs. Child Courses

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi - first of all - you want 10 different groups taking the same course; that's fine. Second - why do you need a master course and ten child courses? Why not just use the one course for your ten groups? If you are thinking that teacher 1 might want to add something just for class 1 but not affect classes 2-10 then you can do that in Moodle by turning on groupings and making your classes groupings. Then class 1 would just see that resource and the other classes wouldn't. Better than your master course>ten child courses set up. Have a look at groupings. (We set our courses up per year -eg Year 7 geography - and there are 4 teachers and 8 classes. They all use the same course. Individual teachers add resources for their classes -it doesn' matter to us if other classes see them (you could always specify This is for class A) but we could if we wanted to, use the groupings facility as I mentioned above.)
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Mary Cooch