Approval period?

Approval period?

by Bill Mounce -
Number of replies: 36
I am just getting into forums, and it appears there is no way to force a forum posting to be held in an approval queue, nor a way to block a person who has posted an offensive posting (other than the email block). Am I missing something? Is this a topic of concern to you for enhancements?

Thanks.

Bill
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Bill Mounce

Re: Approval period?

by Helen Foster -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi Bill,

You may like to consider using a glossary or database module activity, rather than a forum, as both have approval options.

Regarding blocking a particular user, this may be achieved by assigning them a role with the capability to start discussions or reply set to prevent. (Please say if you require further information about this option.)
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Helen Foster

by Bill Mounce -
Thanks Helen for your response. The approval for the database module is not an approval for comments but an approval for new records in the database. I can't remember the situation with a glossary. I have requested an approval queue for comments on an existing database record through the Tracker.

Here is my situation. I am working on a class to teach Greek to grade school kids. Because of their ages, I know that their parents are going to be very cautious of inappropriate posts, and I don't think that a promise on my part to remove offensive ones as soon as I find them is going to give parents enough assurance.

Without the approval queue, I am going to have to use Drupal or bbPhp for forums and link to them from within Moodle, which means it will work but wouldn't be very elegant.

Is there community support for requesting this feature in Moodle 2.0 do you think?

Thanks.

Bill