Flexibility in quiz layout

Flexibility in quiz layout

by Josep M. Fontana -
Number of replies: 3
I'm trying to put together the typical reading comprehension exercise by using the quiz module but I'm finding that it is a bit too rigid for what I need. Most likely the problem is that since I'm totally new to Moodle I just haven't learned the right trick, so I would like to get some help from the more experienced Moodle quiz builders.

My problem is the following. Before the student is asked to answer a question (be that multiple choice or True/False), s/he must be presented with a text. So the first thing I'd like to know is how to generate a screen of text without any questions. Once the user reads the text, s/he could click a button to go to a different screen and start answering. Furthermore, to improve usability, I would like to use larger fonts. That creates a problem when a text is too long, because the user has to keep scrolling and scrolling until s/he reaches the end of the text. I would like to be able to do is to split the text into different parts so that each one of them could be viewed in a single screen with very clear big enough fonts. The user could keep advancing or go back to a previous screen with the appropriate buttons.

There is even something more "sophisticated" that I would like to achieve. When the students are already answering the questions, I would like for them to have the option to visualize the appropriate segment of text that is relevant to answer the question. For this I would need to add a button next to the questions which would be linked to some sort of pop up window where the appropriate paragraph or segment would be displayed. It would also be a good idea to have a way to make the user pay a little "penalty" if s/he resorts to this kind of help by opening this window (this encourages more careful reading,).