Edited Strings Not Visible

Edited Strings Not Visible

by Prashant Ghildiyal -
Number of replies: 22
Hi!!
I am new to moodle, to understand the "language editing" option I followed these steps and have been struggling with the problem for some time now.

I logged in as administrator and selected language editing option, and after choosing "Local String Customization" of English Language pack, changed the entry against "Author" to "Contributor" and saved wiki.php.

I was expecting to see "Contributor" instead of "Author" on the refreshed "wiki.php" but it was still showing "Author"

Can you please point out error in the steps i have taken. I am using Moddle 1.9+ on windows XP.

Thanks
Prashant Ghildiyal
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Prashant Ghildiyal

Re: Edited Strings Not Visible

by David Mudrák -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Plugins guardians Picture of Testers Picture of Translators
Hi!

the procedure seems to be OK. I have tested it right now and I am able to save the modified local string. See the attached screenshot on how it looks after the save. The green highlighted cell indicates the difference of your local translation.
Just to clarify - is "Author" still showing at the translation page or at the wiki activity page?

d.
In reply to David Mudrák

by Prashant Ghildiyal -
Hi David,
Author is still showing on both translation page as well as wiki page.

When I tried to replicate this issue on a free web-host (earlier i was doing it on my local system) it showed intended behavior that is author string got replaced by creator; I think it is because of XAMPP setting on my local system, do you have any idea as to what can be reason?

Regards,
Prashant

by Larry Elchuck -
Hi Prashant and David