Moodle Shared Host Install Report Back and Bug Fixes

Moodle Shared Host Install Report Back and Bug Fixes

by Rudy Preston -
Number of replies: 12
Hello,

I recently Installed Moodle 1.9 for the first time for a client of mine. I am a web designer and programmer. The client has had past experience using and updating blogs such as wordpress. No real coding experience.

Firstly, we decided to use Dreamhost for our hosting needs.
Dreamhost is a great host to install moodle if you only plan on having a few active classes. They could handle about 500 students, depending on the intensity of the forums. Plus Unlimited Bandwidth and Unlimited Server Space and a free domain name.

Their server was configured nearly perfectly for moodle's needs from the get go.
All the server settings were "pass" on the install settings check.

We linked to the database with no problem, dreamhost's control panel made it a snap to create the mySQL db and even choose the address for the db server.

After installation, I noticed in the "notifications" section that we were getting the following error:

"Enabling the PHP setting display_errors is not recommended on production sites because some error messages may reveal sensitive information about your server."

Well that was troublesome for my client, so we had to customize our php installation
since you cannot control "display_errors" from the .htaccess file.

Turns out Dreamhost allows you to run your own version of php via a php.ini file, but it takes a tiny bit of work to create the sandbox for it:
Instructions on how to install your own version can be found here and they should be work for other hosts too:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Custom_PHP.ini

I followed the instructions in the wiki and it went smoothly.
I set the display_errors setting to Off and no more notification smile