Students can't upload files using HTML editor

Students can't upload files using HTML editor

by Frank Fulchiero -
Number of replies: 9
We are running Moodle 1.9.1.
I notice that as a teacher I can upload files, using the HTML editor, but as a student in both Forums and NWIki, I can't upload files, I get the dialog box below, without the Browse-Upload buttons.

When the student creates a page using the NWiki/DFwiki editor, files can be uploaded, as they go to a separate area, so this may be an HTML editor or general permissions issue, not an NWiki one.

Anyone have any ideas how to fix this?

Attachment InsertImage.png
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Frank Fulchiero

Re: Students can't upload files using HTML editor

by Frank Fulchiero -
Wondering if someone could run a test for me.
Try to upload an image using the HTML editor in NWiki, when logged in as a student. I am wondering if this just does not work, or is a problem with our server. This is on Moodle 1.9.1.

Thanking anyone for assistance.

by Mauno Korpelainen -

Students have never been able to upload images with htmlarea image plugin (by default) because of this code in lib/editor/htmlarea/htmlarea.php:

<?php if(!empty($id) and has_capability('moodle/course:managefiles', get_context_instance(CONTEXT_COURSE, $id))) {
echo "insert_image.php?id=$id";
} else {
echo "insert_image_std.php?id=$id";
}?>

It's connected to capability to manage files (course files) - students use different popup than teachers and you can of course change the previous code or change roles and allow students to manage files but it is a "tiny" security risk. For example in forums students can upload one assignment with each post but they don't have direct access to course files.

In reply to Mauno Korpelainen

by Frank Fulchiero -
Mauno, thanks for the prompt response.